Kentucky Gun Laws
Kentucky gun laws state that an individual is not required by law to register firearms. Also, firearm laws in Kentucky do not require a permit to purchase any kind of firearm.
The requirements to be eligible for the purchase of firearms--which includes shotguns, rifles, handguns, and any firearm legally permitted--is restricted to those who are legal citizens of the United States. Though it is not strictly stated in the written law of Kentucky firearms, it can be assumed that the age requirement to purchase a weapon is to be at least 18 years of age.
Kentucky residents may also purchase firearms from any licensed dealer, manufacturer, or shop in any other state. This also includes a firearms purchase or transaction between individual people or private parties, as long as state and federal laws are followed and observed.
There is no firearms permit necessary for the possession of firearms in the state of Kentucky. The carrying of shotguns and rifles is also permitted without a license, however, to carry a concealed handgun, an individual must have a license to carry a concealed weapon.
The open carry of a handgun is allowed for the exception of areas that are restricted, or specifically disallow open carry on their premises. Individuals that are currently under service to law enforcement, the military, or is a mail carrier are also permitted to carry a concealed firearm while on duty.
The state of Kentucky considers a concealed weapon one that is not easily visible and within immediate access for use by the person. This also extends to firearms in vehicles placed underneath the driver's seat. A weapon located in the glove compartment, whether the compartment itself is locked or unlocked, is not considered under the state's definition of a concealed weapon.
Those who wish to apply for a concealed weapons license must be at least 21 years old, a resident of Kentucky for at least six months, and a citizen of the United States. U.S. citizens who are currently listed to be on active duty for the military and assigned to the state of Kentucky for a period of at least six months are also eligible. Reasons for applicant to be considered ineligible for a concealed weapons license include:
• Convictions of crimes punishable by incarceration for a term over one year.
• Convictions of domestic violence misdemeanors.
• Two or more convictions for driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or controlled substances within three years of the date of application.
• Owing child support that is greater or equal to the amount to be paid in one-year's time.
• Warrants or subpoenas relating to child support or paternity cases.
• Convictions involving Assault in the fourth degree or terroristic threatening in the third degree within three years of the application date.
Applicants for the concealed weapons license must also complete a firearms safety course that is conducted by the Department of Justice Training.
The course is not to be over eight hours long, and covers areas such as instruction, care, and cleaning of handguns, marksmanship, and target practice. In order to complete the test, the applicant must successfully hit a target at least eleven times out of twenty shots fired. The application is valid for five years, and the applicant is responsible for any required fees.
Even with license, it is prohibited for an individual to carry concealed firearms into public facilities such as schools, police stations, courthouses, day care centers, and any businesses that sell alcohol for consumption on the premises.
NEXT: Louisiana Gun Laws