New Mexico Gun Laws
Like many states in the US, New Mexico possesses weak gun control laws with a few provisions in regards to concealed weapons. Based on the chart below, New Mexico can be regarded as containing the median restrictions and regulations for gun control laws in America.
State requirements for rifles and shotguns:
No permit is necessary to purchase rifles or shotguns
Registration of rifles and shotguns is not warranted
License of ownership is not necessary
there is no permit required under concealed carry laws to carry a rifle or shotgun
State requirements for handguns or pistols:
No permit is necessary to purchase
Registration is not warranted
License of ownership is not necessary
Under concealed carry laws a permit is necessary to conceal a handgun or pistol
According to concealed carry laws, New Mexico is a "shall issue" state for the right to carry concealed handguns. Along with being at least 21 years of age, an applicant for a concealed carry permit must provide proper documentation detailing residency within the state. Concealed carry laws require an applicant to complete a state approved training course that includes at least 15 hours of classroom time. The classes and the shooting instructional vary based on weapon and caliber. Unlike most states, New Mexico requires that the license holder pass the shooting proficiency test every two years. The process to carry concealed weapons takes roughly 3 months and the license is valid for 4 years.
New Mexico does not require a concealed weapons permit if an individual has a similar carrying permit of the following states: Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wyoming.
If a concealed weapons permit is valid, an individual will still face a few restrictions on where he/she is allowed to carry a handgun; these places include: Any federal buildings, schools, or restaurants that serve alcohol. Concealed carry laws in New Mexico are complex and detailed in regards to locations that sell alcohol. For instance, it is legal to carry concealed weapons in grocery stores or convenient stores that sell alcohol, but considered illegal if carried into a liquor store.
Concealed weapons which are unloaded can be carried legally in any establishment except those that sell alcohol. New Mexico also possesses an "extended domain law", which renders one's vehicle as an extension of the home. It is therefore, legal to carry a loaded, concealed weapon anywhere in a vehicle.
Typically speaking, a state's interpretation of gun laws will not waver in terms of leniency between buyers and sellers. New Mexico is no exception. Distributors in the state have limited to no regulations based on the state's gun control laws. Even with a precarious location (New Mexico borders Mexico), sellers are not required to be licensed, file sales reports with the state, nor are police inspections allowed of gun shops or trade shows. There are no limitations placed on bulk purchases, ammunition regulations, or background checks performed during purchase. There are no state waiting periods, ballistic filings, magazine bans, or even restrictions placed on assault rifles.
New Mexico faces a constant struggle between cultural history, crime statistics, and gun trafficking. With a cowboy image, sprawling deserts, and a conservative stance, guns have been woven into the state's fabric. These lax policies towards concealed weapons and firearms has helped perpetuate a violent society. New Mexico is one of the most dangerous states in the US in regards to violent crime percentages. To make matters worse, the state's casual regulations on dealers and distributors further augments gun trafficking across the Mexican border. Contact New Mexico lawyers for legal advice and assistance.
NEXT: New York Gun Laws