Texas Gun Laws
In recent times, residents of the state of Texas have petitioned for the lifting of the open-carry restrictions imposed by Texas gun law. They believe that open-carry is a basic gun right, with roots in the state's history and culture.
Texas is one of the six states that prohibit the open carry of handguns in the country. It is, however, the only real restriction concerning firearms by Texas gun laws. No permit is necessary for the purchase of rifles, shotguns, ammunition, or any firearm component in the state. The only qualifications pertinent to the purchase of firearms set by Texas gun laws is that the purchaser be at least 18 years of age and a resident of the state. Minors may also purchase weapons if they can provide for written permission by their parent or legal guardian.
No state license is needed for the possession of rifle, handgun, or shotgun. However, there are certain restrictions imposed. No person convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor under the Class A category may possess a handgun. Class A misdemeanors generally include crimes involving the family or the household.
The carrying of a concealed handgun is allowed according to Texas gun laws if the person has the appropriate permit. In recent times, residents of Texas are petitioning for this piece of legislature to be lifted, for many consider that it is a an inherent right to carry handguns openly. In order to carry a concealed handgun, a person must apply for a license with the Department of Public Safety and meet certain requirements:
The completed materials and applications
Two passport color photographs
At least 21 years of age
Resident of the state of Texas
Completion of a handgun proficiency test by a qualified instructor
An affidavit stating the applicant's full understanding of laws and rights, and lawful fulfillment of the requirements
Authorization to access records
It is the discretion of the Department of Public Safety to issue a license to carry to those qualified. Applicants that do not meet the requirements include those with felony or Class A misdemeanor records, history of addiction to drugs, alcohol, or controlled substances, mental illness history, or delinquent records involving tax or child support payments. The handgun proficiency test must be completed successfully. It shall also state the test-takers proficiency with either a revolver or semi-automatic pistol.
Certain places or establishments have a restriction on carrying handguns on their premises which include government-related facilities, buildings, or offices, places for religious worship, a race track, businesses that more than 51% of its revenue is from the sale of alcohol for consumption on the location, and schools.
It is also deemed illegal by Texas gun law for a person to not conceal their handgun. Minors under the age of found in possession of a firearm are legally excluded if the minor is engaged in hunting and other sporting activities, defending of people or property as allowed by law, or during agricultural activities.
All such activities are permissible if the minor was properly supervised by an adult over the age of eighteen. An adult will be held responsible if a minor under the age of 17 gains access to a weapon. It is deemed negligible if the adult did not secure the weapon in an appropriate place and the firearm can be readily used. Machines guns are allowed for possession in the state according to Texas gun laws, as long as they are registered on the federal level. It is also key to note that ammunition that can be considered as armor-piercing is considered illegal to possess and sell.
NEXT: Utah Gun Laws